The Bees are Alive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11 Mar

Just wanted to report that I see bees flying out of both hives today.
I took a day off from work because I’m not feeling well, but this is making my day.

Hive B had a lot of dead bees at the entrance and I was concerned, but they seem to have made it and there are live ones flying out.

Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes.

So now, the question is do I start feeding them again and what do I feed them (liquid? dry?) — because once I start, I will have to continue to feed them. And if I feed liquid and we get another frost, then it will freeze and that’s not good. OK. Calm down. I am going to do some homework.

2 Responses to “The Bees are Alive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. francisco m April 1, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    Hi i came across your blog via the meetup website. I am also a beekeeper, i keep my girls here on staten island. However i am not having much success. I had one hive that starved to death in march of 2012, so for the next hive i started over new hive new frames. This hive was started in march of 2012. They seemed to flourish, until march 2013. They are all gone without a trace…no dead bees..just an empty hive. It had honey and pollen and drawn out comb enough to get them to next pollen flow. Has this happen to you just wondering.

    • kamitera July 15, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

      “Without a trace” sounds like a case of CCD. Have you checked with your local authorities to see if they’ re spraying for West Nile virus mosquitos in your area? Have you checked to see if you have a neighborhood garden or a farm nearby, that could potentially be using pesticides lethal to bees? I’ve never seen CCD here in our hives – the challenges I’ve had are old-time problems like wax moths and unproductive queens.

Leave a Reply

